I Owe My Personal Growth to This Only Habit

And how it benefitted my overall personality.

Abhinav Rai
3 min readSep 5, 2023
Photo by Blaz Photo on Unsplash

I would appreciate it if you came here. To do something valuable, the desire for initiation is required. Because a journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step, that’s what it is.

Reading is an addictive habit, once you have started there is no going back. But it doesn’t happen overnight. You need to be patient enough to master reading habits over a course.

I embarked on my journey of reading during the recent pandemic. The entire nation was in lockdown, and so was I. Nothing was exciting to engage in, I was scrolling my feed, and an article titled ‘Impact of reading 20 minutes a day’ showed up.

Being enticed by the title I dived into it and till now it stayed with me. It’s been three years and still, the reading habit is ingrained within me.

The entire reading journey was invaluable. Books taught me to imbibe the perspective of the author, with his years of life experience. They are the reservoir of wisdom, which can be acquired within hours. Apart from this, it significantly improves your memory and vocabulary, enhances brain functioning, and builds focus.

It’s never too late to get started especially with reading. It’s an endless journey to pursue which empowers your character and self-confidence.

Now, let me emphasize a little more on the significance of reading so that you can inculcate reading habits to derive insane benefits from the books.

Reading improves sleep

I have had a hard time sleeping at night due to my afternoon naps. No matter how hard I tried, I kept failing the attempts to sleep early at night. I am unable to recall when it started.

However, since I held back to my reading routine during bedtime, things changed dramatically. I started to have better sleep quality and I often lose track of time when I fall asleep.

Reading during the bedtime routine signals the brain to minimize its activity. It calms the mind, resulting improvement in sleep quality.

Reading develops empathy

You may be wondering about the link between reading and empathy. But you might be surprised to know that this fosters empathy in people from its plots.

I imparted empathy by reading books on psychology and human behavior. These books injected the idea of perceiving things differently. Because there’s always a reason behind the way people act.

A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies.

Reading incorporates humility in people by detoxing their ego. Most of the successful people read books to expose themselves to extended viewpoints.

Improves focus

Many studies have been done to determine the impact of reading 20 minutes daily. It has been witnessed that reading at least 20 minutes a day instills the ability to perform deep work.

This is due to the elimination of distraction which optimizes the possibility of uninterrupted workflow for a longer duration. By reading books I acknowledged that my ability to concentrate and focus had elevated earlier.

Additionally, I followed the Pomodoro technique along with reading to amplify my productivity.

Improves communication

Human beings are social animals and communication is undeniably a vital skill to learn. Communication bridges the gap between people and it’s an important ingredient in achieving success. Because it’s a critical soft skill, especially in the corporate world.

I was a big introvert, who never tried to break the ice during conversations. But the debut of books like ‘How to Win Friends and Influence People’ and ‘How to Talk to Anyone’ in my life, turned everything upside down to me.

Now I can easily initiate a conversation with strangers (a little hesitant with females) and deliver my message effectively. Reading aids to pick up large vocabulary, eventually improve communication.

Some of the best books to start reading habits include IKIGAI, THE ALCHEMIST, THINK AND GROW RICH, and THINK STRAIGHT, etc.

Tell me about your favorite book in the comment section.

Thank You

--

--

Abhinav Rai

Penning down my unsolicited opinions based on my personal experiences ... Self-Help | Books | Mental Health |